My Piece of Dirt

Zone 8 Gardening

on July 24, 2017

Oh my….I have been gone a long time….Terribly dismayed…..Everything has changed on WP…….Do I have time to learn the new “system” every time I log on….? Well, I’ll see how this goes……..and ponder the merits……

It’s official……my garden is a zoo……I’ve even got turtles now…..didn’t go get them, they just appeared……One was a river turtle……and had gotten pretty big….Took him to a nice pond….The other is a youngish box turtle……Plenty of worms for him to eat….loves tomatoes that aren’t good enough for canning or sandwiches…..If I haven’t lost my mind….. my slug and snail problem disappeared around the same time the turtles showed up…….. I appreciated it so much…..I made him a bath….It’s a flee market sink with a plug that’s easy to drain…..

My attitude about many things ‘garden’ has changed…..don’t see most weeds as my mortal enemy anymore……Naked ground is the only thing unexceptionable….

Also I don’t gnash my teeth over the water bill anymore….Yes, it does double in the summertime……but so what……in return I get fresh, organic fruits & vegetables….and IT IS MY THING…. plus…..I’m supporting a zoo now……

 

green is my favorite color

