My Piece of Dirt

Zone 8 Gardening

Herbs and Sun

on August 26, 2014
Chive Blooms

Chive Blooms

So I had chives and Four O’clock flowers growing under my Dwarf Apple tree, ’cause both the herb and flower do not like a whole lot of sun.  (most herbs do not like a lot of sun.)  And both the chives and the Four O’clocks are suppose to deter bad bugs away from the apple tree.

Everything was going along fine, until I cut down the cucumbers that were growing in a plot on the west side of the tree.  Then the chives and the flowers started to wilt in the fierce afternoon sun.  So now I’ve got my ugly wheel-barrel parked on the right of the tree to shade the plants from the p.m. sun.  So… pretty right next to ugly.  What’a you goin’ do?

Chives, Four Oclock Flowers and Wheel Barrel

Chives, Four Oclock Flowers and Wheel Barrel

I haven’t ever clipped these chives–generally I take clippings from my potted plants— and look what happen…blooms…Wonder if I’ll get seeds????  Are they hybrids?  Shoot, now I have to go back and look that up.

Also, I’m plantinggiant dill’ today.  Hope I can squeeze it in before winter. Originally I planted the giant dill.  It was great–lots of ferns and seeds, but it was so freaking tall that I switched to the smaller variety.  But I was very disappointed with the smaller dill plants–no seeds and not much fern action either.

I put a ‘stand for pots’ inside the dill pot.  I’m hoping that if weave the plants through the wire stand that it will prop-up my giant dill.

dill prop

dill prop

I grow the dill for my pickles, but dill has a tendency to mature before the cucumber do, so I just dry the seeds and keep them in a glass jar.  And I clip, wash, bag and freeze the ferns until I get everything together.

